Soul Food Sundays

IMG_4190

My boyfriend and I have set a tradition since we’ve been dating. Every Sunday with go to a Soul Food restaurant and pig out! Today, we went to Home of Chicken and Waffles in Oakland. My, my, my was it good!

IMG_4187

Chris (my boyfriend) had “Dale’s Choice” which came with six chicken strips, which he loves, a waffle, and yams. On the side, he threw in a small bowl of red beans and rice. That man can eat y’all! I couldn’t help my eyes from wandering to his plate, in my head hoping he wouldn’t eat it all! I snuck a bite of his waffle, which was delicious. It had the right amount of sweet and fluffy. He gave me a chicken strip, which tasted better without the BBQ sauce. And the red beans and rice were to die for, it had a kick of spice that made them just right. In his words, “they aren’t better than PopEyes though”. All in all, he had a great meal, and wants to try something different next time.

IMG_4186As for me, I got “Uncle Does Sampler”. You could choose from a variety of sides, I chose collard greens, macaroni & cheese, and yams, it also comes with cornbread. Being the food lover I am, I couldn’t miss out of the protein, which made me get a fried chicken breast on the side. The collard greens, mac & cheese, and yams don’t only look good on the plate, but they tasted like heaven! I literally cleaned my plate with my fork. The chicken wasn’t really my favorite thing, but it did the meal justice. The cornbread was a little dry for my liking, but that all was changed when I asked for some honey to glaze the top. And YES, I ate all this by myself, and still had some room to help Chris finish his plate. We love too eat!

Oh, and the best part: Bottomless Mimosas for only $7 with the meals EVERY Sunday from 10am-3pm! Needless to say, it was a very happy Soul Food Sunday for us. If y’all go or have been, let me know how you liked it!

-A

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

